Music

Sir spent a good chunk of a day making a new house collar.

It is beautiful. Scarlet-dyed, heavy boot leather with three attachment points. The edges are smoothed and sealed. Sir put a leather lining inside the collar to keep my skin from irritation. It is lighter and slightly more narrow than the original house collar. The care and thought that went into its construction are humbling.

He loves me.

When he put it on me, I knew that wearing it would be a reminder of his care of, and responsibility for, me.

The metal rings chime with almost every movement; I shall have music wherever I go.

Those reminders–the new weight, the new sounds–remind me to focus on my journey. In pleasing him, I please myself.

Leave a Reply

